Skip to main navigation.

Kentucky Youth Tour

The Kentucky Rural Electric Washington Youth Tour is an annual, week long, all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, DC, that is open to select high school students whose homes are served by electric cooperatives.

Twenty-two of Kentucky’s 24 electric cooperatives participate in the Kentucky Rural Electric Washington Youth Tour.

Although all participants must be between their junior and senior years in high school and no older than 18 at the time of the Washington trip, each electric co-op has a unique method of selecting students for the trip. Some co-ops hold essay contests; some rely on personal interviews; some administer qualifying exams.

Students interested in the Washington Youth Tour trip must apply through the electric co-op that serves their area of the state. For example, students living in the Hopkinsville area may only apply through Pennyrile Electric Cooperative while students living in the Somerset area may only apply through South Kentucky RECC.

Information about Youth Tour KY has been distributed to Coops and students. Please refer to the APP for the agenda, code of conduct and for any additional information. If you have questions or need to contact the KAEC liaison please contact:

Mary Beth Dennis  - mbdennis@kaec.org502-815-6302





A Big Sandy RECC Natasha Wiley
B Blue Grass Energy Denise Myers
C Clark Energy Lois Hatton
E Farmers RECC Caralyne Pennington
F Fleming-Mason Energy Lori Ulrich
G Grayson RECC Kim Bush
H Gibson EMC Debbie Weatherford
I Inter-County Energy April Burgess
J Jackson Energy Jaime Gaddis
K Jackson Purchase Energy Vanessa Blagg
L Kenergy Jeanette Weedman
M Licking Valley RECC Suzanne Vance
N Meade County RECC David Pace
O Nolin RECC Patsy Whitehead
P Owen Electric Whitney Duvall
O Pennyrile Electric Brent Gilkey
S Shelby Energy Candi Waford
T South Kentucky RECC Alan Coffey
U Taylor County RECC Ann Beard
V Tri-County Electric Tracy Roark
W Warren RECC Tami Cohron
X West Kentucky RECC Georgann Lookofsky


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo